Hazard Mitigation Program

Incentive Type: Grant Program
Infrastructure, Technology, Health And Safety
Eligible Sector:
Financial Incentive
Time Period:
FY 2015
Governing Body: Federal Emergency Management Agency
What’s it worth?: variable

The Hazard Mitigation Program is aimed to reduce the risk of life loss during disasters. Applicants must have a FEMA- approved State or Trial Mitigation plan unless applying to develop a mitigation plan. Eligible participants include:

  • States
  • Territories
  • Indian Tribal governments
  • Local communities
  • Educational Institution
  • Private nonprofit organizations

Participant must match a minimum of 25% of the awarded funds from a non-Federal source but and may be eligible for up to 90% Federal cost-share.

Funds may only be used for qualifying activities:

  • Property Acquisition and Structure Demolition or Relocation
  • Structure Elevation
  • Mitigation Reconstruction
  • Dry Floodproofing of Historic Residential and Non-residential Structures
  • Generators
  • Flood Risk Reduction Efforts
  • Retrofitting
  • Safe Room Construction
  • Soil Stabilization
  • Wildfire Mitigation
  • Post-Disaster Code Enforcement
  • Advance Assistance
  • 5% Initiative Projects
  • Hazard Mitigation Planning
  • Planning Related Activities
  • Technical Assistance
  • Management Cost
  • Other Pre-approved Activities

All activities must adhere to relevant statutes, regulations, and requirements. Duplication of existing program or benefits are not qualified for this program. To apply for this opportunity eligible participants should request and application package, submit the application for review before the deadline; pre-award cost may be incurred but may be funded by HMA as funds are available. Funds are awarded according to FEMA determined priority.